Reporting System

Implementation Profile for Eastern Kentucky University

Submitted on November 20, 2015; last updated on November 20, 2015

Institution Information

Commitment Type Climate
Basic Carnegie Classification Masters College
Control Public
Location Richmond, KY
Community Setting Urban fringe of mid-size city
USDOE Climate Zone 4
Current President or Chancellor's Name Michael Benson
Current President or Chancellor's Title President
Main Website
Sustainability Website
Additional Urls No information provided

Implementation Structure

Institutional Format Committee
Number of Individuals in Structure 11-20
Stakeholder Groups Represented Board, Faculty, Students, Executive, Staff
Description The Office of Sustainability has direct responsibility for the advancement and integration of sustainability into all aspects of Eastern Kentucky University's operation. In accordance with the University's ongoing commitment to sustainability, a cross-functional University Committee known as the Responsible Environmental Stewardship Committee (RESC) was created to increase and improve the praxis and teaching of sustainability and environmental stewardship across all university areas. RESC also assists, advises and supports the Office of Sustainability’s initiatives. This committee is comprised of 18 voting members representative of 8 different faculty divisions, 6 administrative and university staff employees, and 2 at large members. RESC members as well as any individual interested in getting involved are then appointed to Sustainaiblity Teams to lead specific initiatives forward. Sustainability Teams are named by the initiatives they represent, for example: Energy, Air, and Climate; Waste Management, Buildings & Infrastructure, Community Engagement, Academic Affairs, etc. Bi-monthly RESC Meetings are open to the public and progress toward goals is reported quarterly to University leadership.
Committees and Groups with whom Institution coordinates The Office of Sustainability and Responsible Environmental Stewardship Committee (RESC) coordinate with individuals representing the College of Arts & Sciences, College of Justice & Safety, College of Education, College of Business & Technology, College of Health Sciences, University Programs, Division of Natural Areas, Division of Student Success, Student Life, Housing, Marketing Communications, Purchasing, Finance & Administration, Engagement & Regional Stewardship, Facilities Services, Student Government Association and the Student Sustainability Organization known as "Green Crew."
Implementation Liaison's Name Patrick W McKee
Implementation Liaison's Title Sustainability Manager
Implementation Liaison's Department Office of Sustainablility